POLLS     NHL STATS     SEARCH

TRENDING NOW


BLADEOFSTEEL  |  NHL  |  NEWS

The NHL explains why tying goal for the Anaheim Ducks was mystifyingly allowed to stand


PUBLICATION
Liam
January 7, 2023  (6:20 PM)
SHARE THIS STORY
FOLLOW US



In last night's game between the San Jose Sharks and Anaheim Ducks, Mason McTavish scored late in the third period to tie the game, only to wait for the review. The Ducks entered the offensive zone in messy fashion, and immediately after he scored, McTavish himself believed the goal to be offside.

The Sharks quickly challenged the goal for being offside, but were surprisingly shut down, and the referees ruled it to be a goal.
Henrique appears to be offside when the Ducks enter the zone, but similar to Cale Makar's goal challenged for offside in last year's playoffs, it was ruled onside because the player entering the blue line did not physically touch the puck until Henrique was barely onside.
It's still somewhat of a controversial call, being that it's potentially an offside in the spirit of the rule, and that a player should not lose «possession» of the puck when he's in the middle of stick handling.
The goal is more controversial when it goes on to alter the momentum of the game. After this standing as the tying goal, the Ducks completed the comeback to win the game 5-4 in overtime. At least this time the league offered some explanation, and hopefully will continue to do so in the future, potentially even making referees available to the media.
POLL
7 JANVIER   |   27 ANSWERS
The NHL explains why tying goal for the Anaheim Ducks was mystifyingly allowed to stand

Do you like this explanation from the NHL?

Yes13.7 %
No1244.4 %
There's no way that wasn't offside1451.9 %
LIST OF POLLS
Latest 10 stories

BLADEOFSTEEL.COM
COPYRIGHT @2024 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
TERMS  -  POLICIES  -  CONSENT