POLLS     NHL STATS     SEARCH

TRENDING NOW


BLADEOFSTEEL  |  NHL  |  NEWS

Matthew Tkachuk gets away with embarrassing embellishment


PUBLICATION
Brett Thomas Wills
May 18, 2024  (9:10)
SHARE THIS STORY
FOLLOW US




Charlie Coyle hits Matthew Tkachuk
Photo credit: https://x.com/bostonianinil/

During game 6 between the Boston Bruins and Florida Panthers, Matthew Tkachuk got away with one of the most blatant embellishments of the entire playoffs.

In the second period of tonight's game between the Panthers and Bruins Tkachuk was able to get away with an Oscar worthy performance after colliding with Charlie Coyle. On the play Tkachuk falls to the ice sprawling out and remains there until the call is made.
The problem with this play more than anything is the fact that a standard was set earlier in the game when Parker Wotherspoon was called for embellishment. On the play Wotherspoon is cross-checked from behind and falls to the ice, a play the referee determined was embellishment.
One has to wonder if a number of things are going on, not just during the playoffs but through the regular season as well. Are players taught how to embellish? Do certain teams get calls over others? Is there a number of players in the league that get called for embellishment over others; and do referees know how to clearly identify these instances?
While Charlie Coyle gets a penalty over a seemingly helpless Matthew Tkachuk, it seemed like Tkachuk fell more than he was hit, yet no call on Tkachuk occurred. It begs the question of what the referees feel embellishment really is.
There are times when two plays occur, but one is called for embellishment and the other one isn't. It would just be nice to see the officials call a more consistent game, instead of everyone questioning what they're thinking. If you're going to hold a player accountable for embellishment, you better hold a referee accountable for not knowing what's a penalty and what isn't. A little consistency goes a long way.
POLL
MAY 18   |   201 ANSWERS
Matthew Tkachuk gets away with embarrassing embellishment

Did Matthew Tkachuk get away with embellishment?

Yes, he should have received a penalty15074.6 %
No, that was the result of the hit4120.4 %
Best refs in the world!105 %
LIST OF POLLS
Latest 10 stories

BLADEOFSTEEL.COM
COPYRIGHT @2024 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
TERMS  -  POLICIES  -  CONSENT