20:00
-
-
    
BLADEOFSTEEL  /  NHL  /  NEWS

Cale Makar admits he regrets being a good sport and shares what he said to his teammates

Published December 20, 2022 at 1:38 PM
BY JOSH

Last night Cale Makar had an incredible show of sportsmanship. After being followed behind his own net Makar lost an edge and fell to the ice. To the referee on the ice it appeared Makar was tripped by a trailing Mat Barzal.

As soon as play was blown dead Makar skated over to the referee and informed him that he hasn't been tripped. The referee opted to believe Makar and chose to rescind the penalty called against Barzal. But how does Makar feel hours later?


Well it turns out despite the good sportsmanship, Makar has a bit of regret. So much so he even apologized to all of his teammates.


The ref that called it wasn't the one at center ice. ... I don't think he had a good angle on it. ... I think I would have felt a lot less guilty if I didn't say anything than if I did. ... I apologize to (my teammates). I don't plan on doing that again.


The Avalanche went onto win the game 1-0 in a shootout, so maybe that powerplay was the difference.
POLL
December 20   |   1 answers
Cale Makar admits he regrets being a good sport and shares what he said to his teammates

Did Cale Makar make the right call?

No, take the powerplay00 %
Yes, sportsmanship is important00 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories