BLADEOFSTEEL  /  NHL  /  NEWS

Cale Makar shows incredible sportsmanship gets penalty cancelled for the other team

Published December 19, 2022 at 10:07 PM
BY JOSH

Cale Makar is known as one of the best players in the NHL, but even better than his talent might be his sportsmanship. Tonight that sportsmanship was on full display against the New York Islanders.

As Makar skates around the back of the net he loses an edge. Unfortunately from the referees view point it appears that he's tripped by Mat Barzal. As Makar turns over the puck the referee blows the whistle to call a penalty.

Instead of allowing the penalty to be called Makar immediately skates over to the referee and tells him that he wasn't tripped.




The referee used his best judgement and opted to side with Makar and cancels the penalty call. This is an incredible move by Makar and deserves to be publicized.
POLL
December 19   |   296 answers
Cale Makar shows incredible sportsmanship gets penalty cancelled for the other team

Is Cale Makar the best defender in the NHL?

Yes he is26288.5 %
No it's someone else3411.5 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories