POLLS     NHL STATS     SEARCH

TRENDING NOW


BLADEOFSTEEL  |  NHL  |  NEWS

Controversial no goal call becomes even more controversial after rule is revealed


PUBLICATION
Josh tupper
October 18, 2022  (8:48)
SHARE THIS STORY
FOLLOW US



Last night the Toronto Maple Leafs lost to the Arizona Coyotes. Late in the 3rd period the Maple Leafs thought they'd tied the game at 3, that was until a review came from the situation room. The review was to determine if there was a missed stoppage in play due to a hand pass.

Ultimately the goal was called back due to this description.
The only problem though is that the rule doesn't appear to be written to allow for video interpretation. The rule is written to describe only on ice official's discretion.
The Situation Room determined that Morgan Rielly batted the puck with his hand inside the attacking Zone before teammate Mitchell Marner subsequently gained possession and control. According to Rule 79.1, a player may bat a puck in the air with his open hand, "unless, in the opinion of the on-ice officials, he has directed the puck to a teammate, or has allowed his team to gain an advantage, and subsequently possession and control of the puck is obtained by a player of the offending team, either directly or deflected off any player or official." In this case, it was deemed that Marner was the first player to gain possession and control of the puck after Rielly batted it with his hand.

The wording clearly states "in the opinion of the on-ice officials", so multiple questions have arisen as to how the review team could possibly reverse this.
It will be interesting to see if the league issues a statement on this play.
POLL
18 OCTOBRE   |   1 ANSWERS
Controversial no goal call becomes even more controversial after rule is revealed

Should this goal have counted?

Yes it should have00 %
No it shouldn't have00 %
Ha suck it Leafs00 %
LIST OF POLLS
Latest 10 stories

BLADEOFSTEEL.COM
COPYRIGHT @2024 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
TERMS  -  POLICIES  -  CONSENT