Lady Byng Trophy Finalists Announced

Published May 18, 2022 at 12:14

The NHL revealed the three finalists for the 2022 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy on Wednesday. Winnipeg Jets' forward Kyle Connor, Carolina Hurricanes' Defenseman Jaccob Slavin, and Minnesota Wild Defenseman Jared Spurgeon.

Lady Byng award is given annually to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

The Jets forward set career highs in 2021-22 with 47 goals, 46 assists, and 93 points in 79 games. He finished fourth among all forwards averaging 21:47 of total ice time and racked up only four total penalty minutes this season. This is Connor's first time up for the award and he is also the first Lady Byng Trophy finalist in Jets/Atlanta Thrashers history.

Slavin won the award last season. The Hurricanes defenseman led the team in total ice time (1,858:52) and helped the franchise lead the NHL in fewest goals allowed (202), helping Antti Raanta and Frederik Andersen to win the William M. Jennings Trophy. Slavin put up career highs with 38 assists in 42 points and was whistled for only 10 penalty minutes in 79 games. A win would make him the first player to take home the Lady Byng Trophy in consecutive seasons since Martin St. Louis (2009-10, 2010-11).

Spurgeon was a finalist for the award last season. The Wild defenseman hit double digits in goals (10) for the fifth time in his career and reached the 40 point-mark for the second time in four seasons. He played 1,374:45 over 65 games and served only 10 minutes in penalty time, the seventh time in 12 NHL seasons he's been whistled for 10 or fewer penalty minutes. Good thing for Spurgeon that his playoff activities don't come into play.

May 18   |   138 answers
Lady Byng Trophy Finalists Announced

Who will will the Lady Byng for this season?

Kyle Connor7050.7 %
Jaccob Slavin3323.9 %
Jared Spurgeon3525.4 %
Latest 10 stories