After watching the replay of Vlasic's goal a few times, I was a little surprised that the goal counted. Vlasic pinched in from his left point position and skated toward the Chicago net. As he got close to the net,
Matt Benning passed the puck cross ice where the puck went off the inside part of his right skate. The initial call from the referee was no goal. However it was reviewed and it was determined that it was not a direct kicking motion and Vlasic was credited with the goal. It sure seemed like this call could have gone either way.