Sam Bennett Shocked by Controversial Penalty After Collision with Skinner
Photo credit: Walter Tychnowicz-Imagn Images
Panthers forward Sam Bennett was admittedly shocked he received a goaltender interference call for bumping into Edmonton's Stuart Skinner during Game 2.
Already deadlocked at 2-2 in the first period, Panthers forward Sam Bennett ended up colliding with Oilers goaltender Stuart Skinner, leading to Florida receiving a penalty for goaltender interference.
Luckily, Skinner was okay afterwards but it could have led to a very similar incident to things we've seen involving Bennett in the past.
Though it looks like he was shoved into the net, and hit Skinner on accident, he still ended up with the infraction; something that didn't really sit right with the forward.
During intermission he was asked his opinions on the call, and Bennett admitted he was pretty shocked by the whole situation.
Bennett may have a point here, and perhaps it's the referee being aware of the entire
Anthony Stolarz fiasco and decided that Bennett deserved some punishment.
Fans weren't letting Bennett off the hook though, rightly calling out that he should be surprised but only for the fact that he actually got called this time for his actions.
Bennett was chastised for interfering in Game 1 to no call, leading to
Carter Verhaeghe's goal.
It's also not the first time that Bennett has taken a run at Skinner either, as he went after him last year in the Cup Finals as well.
Bennett has been fantastic this postseason, registering 13 goals and six assists and is a key facet into why the Panthers are fighting yet again for the Cup.
He is a pending free agent, and with a lot of talk about where he might end up, if he can continue to change the game like he has been; penalties or not, he's going to earn a lot this summer.
For now though, Bennett is going to focus on winning his second straight Cup; but he might have to be a bit more careful going forward.
Previously on Bladeofsteel
POLL |
JUIN 6 | 391 ANSWERS Sam Bennett Shocked by Controversial Penalty After Collision with Skinner Should Sam Bennet have been penalized for bumping into Stuart Skinner? |
Yes | 262 | 67 % |
No | 129 | 33 % |
List of polls |