20:00
-
-
    
BLADEOFSTEEL  /  NHL  /  NEWS

IIHF let's Timo Meier off the hook for his hit from behind

Published May 22, 2022 at 2:36 PM
BY

The IIHF is known as the highest standards in hockey for penalties. Especially compared to the NHL, but the fact that Timo Meier was let off without a game misconduct, is extremely surprising.

The hit occured when the Canadian team faced off against a very competitive Swiss team. On the play Meier approached Zach Whitecloud from behind and delivered the hit directly to the numbers. Whitecloud's face and head struck the top of the boards.


Meier was given a 5-minute major on the play, but he was not assessed a game misconduct. Historically a play like this would result in an ejection, but the referees elected to not exercise that option.


According to the IIHF this hit meets their standard for boarding and should have resulted in an ejection.

What is the boarding rule in hockey?

Boarding. A boarding penalty shall be imposed on any player who checks or pushes a defenseless opponent in such a manner that causes the opponent to hit or impact the boards violently or dangerously.

Meier would go on to hit the empty net to give the Swiss a 6-3 victory.

POLL
May 22   |   19 answers
IIHF let's Timo Meier off the hook for his hit from behind

Should Timo Meier have received a Game Misconduct?

Yes1052.6 %
No947.4 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories